Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SCLL: SCLL

Council Members        Meetings        Handbook        LSTA Program


 

State Council on Libraries & Literacy

The State Council on Libraries and Literacy advises and assists the State Library, Archives and Public Records with its statewide library and literacy responsibilities. Membership, as outlined by NRS 380A.041, consists of citizens appointed by the Governor to reflect the diversity of the State as well as ex-officio representatives of state government agencies that share in the advancement of library and literacy goals. 

David Ortlipp

David Ortlipp, Chair
Library Trustees
david@ortlipp.com
Term expires: 06/30/2023

Adrienne Santiago
Literacy Organizations
director@nnlc.org
Term expires: 06/30/25

Jonathan Moore
Dept. of Education
jpmoore@doe.nv.gov
 

Felipe Ortiz
Dept. of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation
faortiz@detr.nv.gov

Vacant
Special Libraries

Maggie Farrell, Vice Chair
Academic Libraries
maggie.farrell@unlv.edu
Term expires: 06/30/23

Deanne Mattera
Labor Organizations​
dmattera@ibew357.org
Term expires: 03/30/25

Karissa Loper
Dept. of Health & Human Services
kxloper@dwss.nv.gov
 

Mike Strom, Secretary
Administrator, Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records
mstrom@admin.nv.gov

Vacant
Persons with Disabilities 

Lisa Foley
Member of the Public
lisafoley@ymail.com
Term expires: 03/30/25

Forrest Lewis
Public Libraries
lewisf@cityofnorthlasvegas.com
Term expires: 06/30/23

Kim Petersen

Kim Petersen
Dept. of Corrections
kspetersen@doc.nv.gov
 

Designation pending
Department of Administration

 

Bryan Allison
Private Sector Employers
ballison@gmail.com
Term expires: 06/30/24

2019 NLA Conference: 25 Simple Hacks to Innovate Your School...

Holly Kuhlmann
School Libraries
kuhllibrarian@gmail.com
Term expires: 06/30/23

Karsten Heise

Karsten Heise
​Governor's Office of Economic Development
kheise@diversifynevada.com

Vacant
​Classroom Reading Teacher

 


The Governor believes that all citizens should have direct access to their government and have the right to help shape public policy. The Governor has the privilege and authority to confirm or appoint members to numerous boards and commissions. Most boards and commissions are created by federal law, state legislation, or executive order of the Governor. Each state board has a different role and membership requirements. The membership is outlined in the enabling document and is usually narrowly defined, often including requirements for political or geographic diversity. 

For more information on the process, please visit the Boards and Commissions for the State of Nevada website.

 


NSLAPR strives to ensure all website users have complete access to our online content. NSLAPR's Website Team is continuously working on making our website compliance more robust and welcomes comments on how to improve our website's accessibility for users with disabilities. If site visitors experience issues while interacting with our website, they should contact the Website Team. The e-mail should include the nature of the accessibility problem, the web address and the preferred format in which to receive the materials, and the contact information for the site visitor.

Nevada State Library, Archives, & Public Records

100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Administration
Phone: (775) 684-3339
Fax: (775) 684-3311
Email Administration

Library Services
Phone: (775) 684-3360
Email Library Services
Ask a Librarian

Library Development
Phone: (775) 684-3367
Email Planning & Development

Talking Books
Phone: (775) 684-3354
Toll Free (800) 922-9334
Email Talking Books

Archives
Phone: (775) 684-3310
Fax: (775) 684-3371
Ask An Archivist

Records Management
Phone: (775) 684-3411
Fax: (775) 684-3426
Ask State Records

Imaging & Preservation
Phone: (775) 684-3414
Fax: (775) 684-3426