Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Topics and Resources: Tours

map showing State Library builiding

Government
Buildings in the downtown Carson City area.


Need to cancel or reschedule? 
Please call (775) 684-3310.

Thank you!
We appreciate your interest in the Nevada State Archives.

We will do all we can to ensure your tour is informative and enjoyable.  Please feel free to provide feedback or suggestions by calling or emailing the State Archives Manager at (775) 684-3319 or claframboise@admin.nv.gov.

Not Available at the Present Time

State Archives Tours

Please note

  • In order to safeguard important materials, food and drink are restricted to the lobby or meeting rooms.
  • School groups: One faculty member or adult must accompany every eight students.
  • Accommodations for the physically handicapped, open questions-and-answers, hands-on demonstrations, or very large groups may increase the time needed to tour areas.Please notify us in advance of your needs and interests.

  • Restrooms and drinking fountains are located on the floor.
  • Tours are available from 8-5 Monday through Friday.

Vehicles are not allowed on the Capitol Mall.   Free parking is “first-come, first served” in lots nearby. Buses can load and unload passengers directly in front of the Supreme Court Building (next door and just south on Stewart Street), but cannot park in pull-offs.  The covered parking garage at the corner of 5th and Stewart streets is free.

Our Policy

The Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records is part of the Nevada Department of Administration.  Our mission is to document the history, organization, and function of Nevada state government.

We serve state and local government agencies, the business community, Nevada repositories, and the general public.  In-depth research using in-house materials, databases, and referrals to other organizations are available during our open hours.  

The Nevada State Archives offers tours to the public, organizations, businesses, tourists and government personnel as part of our departmental mission to enrich the lives of citizens and visitors to the state of Nevada.  Our tours can be specialized to meet the interests of each group.

Tours are general 45-60 minutes and provide an overview of the history and functions of Nevada State Government; description of the formats of archival records and a showing of samples from the archives’ holdings.  

For group tours exceeding 10 persons or for customized tours, a minimum of two weeks advance notice is required.

Visit our Web site at http://nsla.nv.gov/ for additional information.

Contact the State Archives Manager, (775) 684-3319 or claframboise@admin.nv.gov to arrange a tour.


The NSLAPR footer is currently being worked on and may appear incomplete

NSLAPR strives to ensure all website users have complete access to our online content.  NSLAPR's Website Team is continuously working on making our website compliance more robust.  

NSLAPR welcomes comments on how to improve our website's accessibility for users with disabilities. If site visitors interfacing with our website, they should contact the Website Team. The e-mail to the Website Team should include the nature of the accessibility problem; the preferred format in which to receive the materials; the web address of the requested materials; and the contact information for the site visitor. 

Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records

100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Telephone: (775) 684-3313

Library Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3360
Information and Reference: (775) 684-3360
Government Publications: (775) 684-3372
Fax: (775) 684-3330
Ask a Librarian

Library Development

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3311

Talking Books

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3355
Email:nvtalkingbooks@admin.nv.gov

Archives

Telephone: (775) 684-3310
Fax: 775) 684-3371
Ask An Archivist

Records Management

Telephone: (775) 684-3411
Fax: (775) 684-3426
Ask State Records

Imaging and Preservation Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3414
Fax: (775) 684-3408

Mail Services

Telephone (Carson City): (775) 684-1860
Telephone (Las Vegas): 702) 486-2485