Borrowing and Lending

The Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records (NSLAPR) offers a Interlibrary Loan program to local, state and federal agencies and their employees, for borrowing library materials which are not available at their local libraries. NSLAPR also offers to order up to five ILL items for a Nevada Library per month and have it shipped directly to that library. A valid Nevada Library card is required to request items.
 

Materials are loaned as a courtesy by another library. Please handle with special care and observe the rules for its use. Your cooperation is important to our continued participation in loan arrangements with other libraries. Your cooperation is important to our continued participation in loan arrangements with other libraries.

Requests

Requests for local, state and federal agencies and their employees must be submitted on the appropriate forms. Electronic forms have been created for convenience at https://nsla.nv.gov/borrowing-lending.

Patrons will need a valid Nevada Library card to request materials.

Turnaround Time

Plan ahead when requesting materials. Materials ordered through Interlibrary Loan arrive on average within 10-14
days, but may take longer depending on the speed of the lending library and the U.S. mail.

Please take this into consideration when requesting material to ensure you will receive the material when needed.

Loan Period

The length of the loan period is determined by the lending institution and not by the Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records.

Due dates must be honored and failure to return items on time may result in denial of future interlibrary loan borrowing privileges.

Renewals

A renewal may be requested, unless the material is marked “No Renewal.” To renew, contact Interlibrary Loan services at nslil@admin.nv.gov or call 775-684-3307, at least one week before the due date.

Renewal requests received on or after the due date may not be approved. If the renewal request is denied by the lending library, you will be asked to return the material immediately.

Fees and Charges

There are usually no fees for borrowing material through Interlibrary Loan unless the lending library charges a fee. In those cases, the cost will be charged to the patron after the patron has agreed to the charges.

Returns

All materials borrowed through ILL must be returned to the Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records. Two book drops are available for drop-off: one on Musser Street and one in the lobby of the State Library, Archives, and Public Records Building. Items can also be returned to the Circulation Desk inside NSLAPR.

Patrons are responsible for items issued checked-in at the Nevada will be billed at the replacement cost set by the lending library. Two incidents of lost material will result in the loss of ILL service for a period of one year.

ILL Affiliations

NSLAPR is a member of the Cooperative Libraries Automated Network (CLAN) statewide system and participates fully in the ILL functions within the State of Nevada. As a holder of a Nevada library card, you may also request materials through the Cooperative Libraries Automated Network (CLAN) catalog, from any of the CLAN member libraries.

Requested materials may be picked up at the Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records, or your local branch library. Materials not available through the CLAN catalog may be requested through the Interlibrary Loan System, if you are an employee of the local State or Federal governments. If you are not an employee of said governments, please visit your local public library to request materials.

ILL Institutions

The Nevada State Library lends to any requesting institution submitting its request on appropriate interlibrary loan forms or through the OCLC-ILL subsystem. Priority is given to requests from Nevada libraries and LVIS network libraries.

As a member of the Information Nevada interlibrary loan system, the Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records submits OCLC requests for Nevada public libraries. This service is limited to 5 requests per public library district, per month.

Each library district is responsible for establishing its own borrowing policy, while adhering to this limitation.

Non-circulating Items

Media, reserve, microform and reference materials are designated as non-circulating and will not be loaned through interlibrary loan. This includes: Newspapers in paper, copy one of Newspaper Microform, Periodicals/Journals, copy one of State Publications, Nevada Reference, Barton Reading and Spelling System/Literacy Kits.

Materials located in the Archives and Special Collections cannot be loaned but may be photocopied at the discretion of NSLAPR staff responsible for those collections. New books will loaned at the discretion of NSLAPR. Test books and study guides are loaned to Nevada libraries only and are not available for interlibrary loan to out of state libraries.

Photocopies of articles are provided in lieu of loaning journal volumes and/or issues. A maximum of 30 pages or no more than 4 articles, whichever may be less, may be requested in a calendar year.

Nevada newspaper microfilm lending is limited to the collection on hand of duplicate copies.

Loan Periods

Monographs are lent through Interlibrary Loan for six weeks use. Two week renewals of monographs are allowed if they have not been requested by a Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records patron.

Overdue Materials

Overdue notices are sent on items that are not returned. Borrowing libraries will be billed for replacement cost of material that is two months overdue.

Restrictions

Borrowing privileges may be revoked if an institution consistently damages or fails to replace lost Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records material or if restrictions placed on borrowed items are ignored.

Copyright

The copyright law of the United States (United States Code: Title 17) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Some material may not be available due to copyright restrictions. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction.

One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

The Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records reserves the rights to refuse to accept a copying order if in its fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Revised: Dec. 2017