Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives Landing: Landing Page

The Archives


Image link to Ask an Archivist
Image link to a video about Emergency Planning and Preparedness for Libraries, Archives and Records Centers
Image link to Preservation for Libraries slide deck
Image link to the Archives' digital collection
Image link to the Nevada History webpage

The State Archives program preserves the records that document the history of Nevada State government dating back to 1851. It has custody over the historical records of the territory and state as defined in state statute, representing the three branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. There are more than 17,000 cubic feet of territorial and state government records and over 100,000 images of Nevada people and places, providing visual information that complements the State Archives' documentation of Nevada history.

Mission Statement

The Nevada State Archives identifies, preserves, and makes accessible the documentary heritage of Nevada and serves as its institutional memory.

Vision Statement

To ensure that state government is accountable, transparent, and supportive to the citizens of Nevada.

 

Research Room

The research room is open to the public
Monday through Friday

9:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Excluding State Holidays

Image of a bullhorn and NSLAPR

Upcoming Events

 


Image of a government style buildingState Government Records

Search the Archives' collection of State and Territorial records.

Image of a quill writing in an open bookAbout the Archives

Learn about the history of the State Archives.

Image of a government style building with a red flag on topTransferring Records to the Archives

Learn how to transfer records to the State Archives for historical preservation.  

Image of an open signTour the Archives

Learn how to schedule a tour of the State Archives.

Image of a brown hat and black sunglassesResearch Services

Information about available research services.

Image of a computer chipElectronic Records

information about digital preservation methods and best practices.

Image of a gavelArchival Regulations and Laws

Nevada Revised Statute and Administrative Code resources related to the State Archives.  

Image of a certificateThe Archival Profession

Information about being an archivist, the code of ethics and professional organization resources. 

Image of a 2 people and 2 talking bubblesThe State Historical Records Advisory Board

information about the State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB)


The NSLAPR footer is currently being worked on and may appear incomplete

NSLAPR strives to ensure all website users have complete access to our online content.  NSLAPR's Website Team is continuously working on making our website compliance more robust.  

NSLAPR welcomes comments on how to improve our website's accessibility for users with disabilities. If site visitors interfacing with our website, they should contact the Website Team. The e-mail to the Website Team should include the nature of the accessibility problem; the preferred format in which to receive the materials; the web address of the requested materials; and the contact information for the site visitor. 

Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records

100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Telephone: (775) 684-3313

Library Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3360
Information and Reference: (775) 684-3360
Government Publications: (775) 684-3372
Fax: (775) 684-3330
Ask a Librarian

Library Development

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3311

Talking Books

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3355
Email:nvtalkingbooks@admin.nv.gov

Archives

Telephone: (775) 684-3310
Fax: 775) 684-3371
Ask An Archivist

Records Management

Telephone: (775) 684-3411
Fax: (775) 684-3426
Ask State Records

Imaging and Preservation Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3414
Fax: (775) 684-3408

Mail Services

Telephone (Carson City): (775) 684-1860
Telephone (Las Vegas): 702) 486-2485