People in each era examine the past for guidance, reinterpret its lessons in light of their own needs and perceptions, and act, thereby creating a record for those who follow. The State Archives is a key component in this examination, establishing the institutional memory for the state, accumulating information of enduring value. As the institutional memory of Nevada government, the State Archives preserves and makes available information that enables all citizens to better understand how public policy evolves from the past, governs the present, and affects the future.
Click on the link for the Complete History of the Nevada State Archives
1861 ~ The Secretary of State for the Utah-Nevada Territory was designated to safely preserve public records This continued after Nevada became a state, making the Secretary of State the de facto State Archivist
1937 ~ The State Board of Control transferred the reasonability for the maintenance of historical records to the Nevada Historical Society in cooperation with the Secretary of States Office
October 4, 1965 ~ The Nevada State Archives Officially Open for Business as part of the Secretary of States Office John Koontz becomes the first State Archivist
1967 ~ Legislation to eliminate the Division of the Archives failed. Instead it became the repository of noncurrent state government records
1973 ~ The Division of Archives' name changed to the Division of State, County and Municipal Archives
1979 ~ The Archives became part of the State Library and Division of Archives
1983 ~ Records Management was added to the functions of the Archives. This meant another name change to Division of Archives and Records
1992 ~ The Archives became a part of the newly created Department of Museums, Library and Arts
2015 ~ The Archives, along with the Library became a division within the Department of Administration
The name was changed to the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records division
The Archives is located on the second (upper) floor of the State Library & Archives building at the Capitol Complex in Carson City. There is street parking as well as a parking garage located on the south end of the complex. We have a reading room for the review of archival records. Original archival records will not be removed from the reading room.
For additional location information, like address and building hours, go to NSLAPR's Contact Us page.
NSLAPR strives to ensure all website users have complete access to our online content. NSLAPR's Website Team is continuously working on making our website compliance more robust.
NSLAPR welcomes comments on how to improve our website's accessibility for users with disabilities. If site visitors interfacing with our website, they should contact the Website Team. The e-mail to the Website Team should include the nature of the accessibility problem; the preferred format in which to receive the materials; the web address of the requested materials; and the contact information for the site visitor.
100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Telephone: (775) 684-3339
Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3311
Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3355
Telephone: (775) 684-3310
Fax: 775) 684-3371
Ask An Archivist
Telephone: (775) 684-3411
Fax: (775) 684-3426
Ask State Records
Telephone: (775) 684-3414
Fax: (775) 684-3408