Skip to Main Content

Job Openings

Position Description & Responsibilities

Archivist 2

Accessioning Archivist

Approximate Annual Salary $53,390.16 to $78,884.64 Pay Grade:33


The Nevada State Archives is seeking an Accessioning Archivist to manage, describe, and track transfers from State Agencies. The State Archives program is part of the Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records Division.  Reporting to the State Archives Manager, the Accessioning Archivist (Archivist II) manages transfers of archival materials in all formats, including (but not limited to) photographs, maps, plans, audiovisual recordings, and documents (both paper and electronic). Primary duties include accessioning, describing, and performing basic conservation of archival materials and tracking their locations. The position may perform the full range of duties described in the state archives series concept, including research, reference, outreach, and supervising support staff. 

Job location is 100 N. Stewart Street, Carson City, Nevada. This is a full time (40 hours per week) permanent position. Regular working hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. If mutually beneficial, the employer and employee may agree upon a set work schedule ranging between 7:00 am and 6:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Apply here: https://nvapps.state.nv.us/NEATS/Recruiting/ViewAnnouncement.aep?recruitmentId=46771

RESPONSIBILITIES  

  • Appraises, transfers, accessions, describes, and preserves State records to ensure they are available for ongoing use 
  • Performs baseline processing of materials at the time of accessioning and tracks box locations to ensure efficient retrieval 
  • Conducts research to answer reference requests and inquiries from public users and state employees 
  • Contributes to the development and execution of strategic plans and initiatives 
  • Collects and assesses data related to archival processes and services 
  • Represents the Archives at professional meetings and serves on professional working groups or steering committees 
  • Supervises support staff as needed, including temporary contract staff 
  • Fosters a safe, professional, respectful environment for employees of diverse backgrounds and identities 
  • Performs related duties as assigned  

REQUIRED QUALIFICATIONS 
 
EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE: Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in archives management, library science, history, information management or closely related field and one year of professional archival experience which included one or more of the following: appraisal, disposition, rights management, accessioning, arrangement/processing, description, preservation, conservation of archival materials, outreach and/or reference services; OR Associate’s degree from an accredited college or university in archives management, library science, history, information management or closely related field and two years of professional experience as described above; OR graduation from high school or equivalent education and three years of professional experience as described above; OR one year of experience as an Archivist I in Nevada State service; OR an equivalent combination of education and experience as described above. Please note that certification as an Archivist by the Academy of Certified Archivists satisfies this requirement. Degree in Library & Information Science or Archives & Records Management preferred. 

  • Knowledge of laws governing the acquisition, retention, and use of archival materials 
  • Knowledge of principles, best practices, and professional standards for archival management, collection management, and archival description and metadata creation 
  • Experience with tools and applications used for archival collection management  
  • Familiarity with tools and materials used for conservation of archival materials in all formats 
  • Ability to determine the administrative, fiscal, legal, informational, or historic value of archival materials 
  • Ability to create standardized archival description, assessment reports, and articles suitable for publication in professional journals 
  • Ability to organize and coordinate archival projects 
  • Ability to train and supervise staff, establish work priorities, and delegate assignments 
  • Ability to prepare and deliver oral presentations suitable for a variety of audiences 
  • Ability to compile and report statistics regarding collection management and use of archives collections 

PREFERRED QUALIFICATIONS 

  • Knowledge of Nevada history and government 
  • Project management experience