Skip to Main Content

Office of Secretary of State

Black and white image of the front view of the Capitol Building covered with snow

Nevada State Capitol Building

Front view of exterior, Winter scene with snow (1960s).

The office of Secretary of State was created by the Nevada State Constitution. The Secretary of State is an elected position within the Executive branch of state government. Secretaries serve four-year terms and are elected in the same general elections as the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Treasurer, and Controller. An executive officer may serve no more than two terms of office or more than once if he has previously held the office by election or appointment. The Secretary is required to maintain his office in the seat of government (Carson City).

The Secretary is responsible for maintaining the official records of the acts of the Nevada Legislature and of the executive branch of state government, and for providing access to those records. In addition, the Secretary serves as a member of the State Board of Prison Commissioners, the State Board of Examiners, the State Records Committee, the State Advisory Committee on Participatory Democracy, and the Executive Branch Audit Committee.

The current Secretary of State is Francisco V. Aquilar (2023-present).


Search the Archives

Search by Subject: