Skip to Main Content

Attorney General

The Attorney General (AG) is the chief legal officer in the state as outlined in Nevada Revised Statute (chapter 228). The Attorney General is elected to a four-year term and represents the people of Nevada in civil and criminal matters before trial, appellate, and the supreme courts of Nevada and the United States. The office possesses powers appropriate to all three branches of government: executive, judicial, and legislative. The Attorney General partners with district attorneys and law enforcement to administer justice and enforce laws.

The current attorney general is Aaron Ford (2019-present). 

Name Held Office Political Party
Charles F. Springer 1962-1963 Democratic
Harvey Dickerson 1963-1971 Democratic
Robert List 1971-1979 Republican
Richard Bryan 1979-1983 Democratic
Brian McKay 1983-1991 Republican
Frankie Sue Del Papa 1991-2003 Democratic
Brian Sandoval 2003-2005 Republican
George Chanos 2005-2007 Republican
Catherine Cortez Masto 2007-2015 Democratic
Adam Laxalt 2015-2019 Republican
Aaron D. Ford 2019-present Democratic

Official Attorney General Opinions

Copies of the official Attorney General Opinions (1914-currrent) and Open Meeting Law Opinions (1997-current) are available on the Attorney General's website:

Attorney General Records

This collection (NvSA-000131) contains the Records of the Attorney General including correspondence, case files, opinions, and records.

*Records of the Attorney General are all, or in part, confidential or restricted by statute (NRS 49.095 and SCR 156). All records requested from this collection will have to be reviewed by Archives staff and all confidential material will be removed before given to a researcher.*



Search the Archives

Search by Subject: