Skip to Main Content

Supreme Court of Nevada

The Supreme Court of Nevada is the highest court of the U.S. state of Nevada. It is the highest judicial body of the Nevada judicial system.

There are seven Justices of the court, who are elected to six-year terms in officially nonpartisan elections and who are not subject to term limits, which were rejected by voters in 1996. The Governor appoints Justices in the case of a vacancy. The most senior justice becomes Chief Justice for a two-year term.

The main constitutional function of the Supreme Court is to review appeals from the decisions of the district courts. The Supreme Court does not pursue fact-finding by conducting trials, but rather determines whether legal errors were committed in the rendering of the lower court's decision. The court can affirm, modify, or set aside the decision on appeal. The court must consider all cases filed.

The current bench consists of Elissa F. Cadish, Ron D. Parraguirre, Kristina Pickering, Linda Bell, Douglas Herndon, Patricia Lee, and Lidia S. Stigich (Chief Justice).


Search the Archives

Search by Subject: