Borrowing and Lending

The Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records (NSLAPR) provides an Interlibrary Loan Program to local, state, and federal agencies and their employees, for requesting library materials which are not available at their local libraries.  In addition, NSLAPR provides service to Nevada Libraries when they need to request an ILL item on their patron's behalf.  Nevada libraries are limited to 5 items per month and NSLAPR will have the item shipped directly to the requesting library.

Materials loaned as a courtesy by another library need to be treated with special care. Care and cooperation is important to our continued participation in loan arrangements with other libraries. 

Please refer to the appropriate navigation tab on the left for directions on requesting materials.

Non-circulating Items

Media, reserve, microform and reference materials are designated as non-circulating and will not be loaned through interlibrary loan. This includes: Newspapers in paper, copy one of Newspaper Microform, Periodicals/Journals, copy one of State Publications, Nevada Reference, Barton Reading and Spelling System/Literacy Kits.

Materials located in the Archives and Special Collections cannot be loaned but may be photocopied at the discretion of NSLAPR staff responsible for those collections. New books will be loaned at the discretion of NSLAPR. Test books and study guides are loaned to Nevada libraries only and are not available for interlibrary loan to out of state libraries.

Photocopies of articles are provided in lieu of loaning journal volumes and/or issues. A maximum of 30 pages or no more than 4 articles, whichever may be less, may be requested in a calendar year.

Nevada newspaper microfilm lending is limited to the collection on hand of duplicate copies.

Loan Periods

Monographs are lent through Interlibrary Loan for six weeks use. Two week renewals of monographs are allowed if they have not been requested by a Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records patron.

Overdue Materials

Overdue notices are sent on items that are not returned. Borrowing libraries will be billed for replacement cost of material that is two months overdue. NSLAPR does not assess overdue fines for late returns, however patrons will be billed for the lost material plus a $25 fee for items more than 60 days overdue.

Restrictions

Borrowing privileges may be revoked if an individual or institution consistently damages or fails to replace lost Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records material or if restrictions placed on borrowed items are ignored.

Copyright

The copyright law of the United States (United States Code: Title 17) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Some material may not be available due to copyright restrictions. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction.

One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

The Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records reserves the rights to refuse to accept a copying order if in its fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Revised: June 2023