Skip to Main Content

Archives SHRAB: Home

 

 

About the State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB)

The State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) is the state level partner of the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) for the State of Nevada.

State Historical Advisory Boards are authorized under federal regulations governed by the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (36 CFR Chapter 12). In this capacity, their primary responsibilities are to:

  • Develop, revise, and submit to the NHPRC a state plan including priorities for state historical records projects
  • Review grant proposals to NHPRC for state and local records projects within the State of Nevada and make recommendations on these proposals to the NHPRC

The Nevada State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) was created by statute in 1989 and was the first such Board created by law in the nation.  SHRAB promotes the establishment and proper maintenance of archives and public records programs throughout the state.  The governor appoints the Board to advise and make recommendations to the legislature. Per NRS 378A, the Board includes the State Archivist, the State Library, Archives and Public Records Administrator, and public members.

Authority: NRS Chapter 378A - State Historical Records Advisory Board

The Board

Coordinator/Chair: Cyndi Shein - State Archivist and Deputy Administrator, Nevada State Archives & Records

Deputy Coordinator/Co-chair: Jeffrey M. Kintop - President, Nevada Judicial Historical Society

Ex-Officio Member: Mike Strom - Administrator, Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records

Support Staff: Cynthia C. Laframboise - Nevada State Archives Manager

Board Members:

  • Maggie Bukowski - Curator of Library, Manuscripts, and Photographs, Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas

  • Su Kim Chung - Head, Special Collections & Archives Public Services and Outreach, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

  • Shayne del Cohen - Independent Consultant to tribal governments

  • Mary Gibson - Administrator, Noowuh Knowledge Center, Elko

  • Bobbi Rahder - Director, Stewart Indian School Museum

  • Jacque Sundstrand - Emeritus Special Collections, University of Nevada, Reno

SHRAB Sponsored Projects and Activities

A significant source of support for SHRAB-sponsored projects is the National Historical Publications and Records Commission's (NHPRC) State Board Programming Grant program. Nevada SHRAB's participation in the review of grant proposals submitted to NHPRC makes cultural heritage entities across Nevada eligible to receive NHPRC funding. The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) also offers awards that support SHRAB. Nevada's SHRAB has undertaken projects for state-wide surveys, public awareness, education and training, and re-grants supported by NHPRC and IMLS  funds. For more information see the following:

NHPRC Grants Awarded to Nevada (1977-2016)

 SHRAB Strategic Plan 2007-2011

Minutes & Agendas

July 22, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.

Teleconference

Agenda

2019-2022 - No meetings were held

June 22, 2018 at 09:30 a.m.

University of Nevada, Reno

     Agenda     

   Minutes       

June 8, 2017 at 09:30 a.m.

Nevada State Museum of Art, Reno

Agenda

     Minutes    

2016 - No meetings were held

December 16, 2015 at 10:15 a.m.

Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas, NV

Minutes

May 14, 2014 at 10:30 a.m.

State Library, Archives and Public Records, Carson City, Committee Room  

Agenda

June 19, 2013 at 10:00 a.m.

City of Henderson

Agenda

Minutes

October 15, 2013 at 10:00 a.m.

University of Nevada, Reno, Mathewson - IT Knowledge Center

Agenda

Minutes


The NSLAPR footer is currently being worked on and may appear incomplete

NSLAPR strives to ensure all website users have complete access to our online content.  NSLAPR's Website Team is continuously working on making our website compliance more robust.  

NSLAPR welcomes comments on how to improve our website's accessibility for users with disabilities. If site visitors interfacing with our website, they should contact the Website Team. The e-mail to the Website Team should include the nature of the accessibility problem; the preferred format in which to receive the materials; the web address of the requested materials; and the contact information for the site visitor. 

Nevada State Library, Archives
and Public Records

100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Telephone: (775) 684-3339

Library Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3360
Information and Reference: (775) 684-3360
Government Publications: (775) 684-3332
Fax: (775) 684-3330
Email:libraryservices@admin.nv.gov
Ask a Librarian

Library Development

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3311

Talking Books

Telephone: (775) 684-3367
Fax: (775) 684-3355
Email:nvtalkingbooks@admin.nv.gov

Archives

Telephone: (775) 684-3310
Fax: 775) 684-3371
Ask An Archivist

Records Management

Telephone: (775) 684-3411
Fax: (775) 684-3426
Ask State Records

Imaging and Preservation Services

Telephone: (775) 684-3414
Fax: (775) 684-3408