Skip to Main Content
State of Nevada webpage

Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records

Archival Education Resources

This site provides educational resources for organizations holding archives and historical records. Topics include archives basics, preservation, records management, digitization, collections care, and public services.

Welcome

Welcome! These resources are from reputable sources that provide opportunities to learn more about various topics related to caring for historical materials. 

Resource Categories

Archives Basics

A folder lies open on a table with documents in it and a box with folders in it to its right

Photo Credit: Nevada Historical Society

Managing Records

Cardboard record cartons on metal shelves

Photo Credit: Nevada Historical Society

Collections Care

Image of conservation supplies stacked on a table. Image includes a cutting mat, ruler, tape, jar of glue, small gray box and a tote bag.

Photo Credit: Nevada State Archives

Preservation

Image of conservator Michael Frazier demonstrating how to encapsulate a document for conservation purposes

Photo Credit: Nevada State Archives

Public Services

Image of a research room. On the left there is a table and 4 chairs. On the right, a women sitting at a desk and computer.

Photo Credit: Stewart Indian School Cultural Center & Museum

This microsite is provided as a courtesy by the Nevada State Historic Records Advisory Board (NVSHRAB). Resources are compiled and maintained by the NVSHRAB Education Subcommittee. Please submit comments, corrections, or additions through the Ask an Archivist online form.

 

The Nevada State Historical Records Advisory Board (NVSHRAB) receives funding from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC).

Featured Opportunities

Caring for Scrapbooks

Cost: $70.00

Date: December 5, 2024 11:00 am - 12:30 pm (pacific)

Description: Available through the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC). Participants will learn about the structure of scrapbooks, the types of materials commonly found in them, methods of attachment, implications for preservation and conservation, and how to provide the best level of care for scrapbook collections.

Caring for Paper-based Collections

Cost: $95.00

Date: March 25, 2025 5:00 am - 1:00 pm (Pacific)

Description: Available through the Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC). An introduction to the preservation of paper-based collections, this webinar focuses on books, documents, photographs, and works of art on paper. It will include information on paper manufacture, deterioration, and proper storage. Also discussed are inks and colorants, adhesives, and image layers.